French translation of crime novel, Deadly Lullaby by Robert McClure

Calmann-Levy publishing firm in France to publish Deadly Lullaby by Robert McClureToday I firmed up plans to meet with my French publisher of Deadly Lullaby, esteemed editor Robert Pepin of Calmann-Levy, the oldest publisher in France. Robert is also a renowned translator of American crime fiction authors, and though he is a very busy senior editor at Calmann-Levy, he has paid me the distinct honor of deciding to translate Deadly Lullaby himself.  Robert was one of the first to believe in one of my favorite authors, Michael Connelly, who has authored many crime novel series, one involving lawyer Mickey Haller, the main character in The Lincoln Lawyer.  Thanks a million to Robert for searching out and discovering new authors with works that inspire him.  Vive Robert!

15 days and counting until release of Deadly Lullaby: A Thriller

Alibi The Next Generation of Mystery and Suspense

The Random House e-originals imprint, Alibi, which specializes in mystery and thrillers, is releasing Deadly Lullaby: A Thriller, on 9/29/15.  If you are attending Bouchercon 2015 in October and are interested in posting a review of Deadly Lullaby, look me up to get a complementary copy.  I’ll be at the meet and greet fan event for new authors Thursday morning of the conference.  Looking forward to seeing everyone there!

Deadly Lullaby available from the following eBook retailers:

purchase from Amazon.com purchase from Barnes & Noble purchase from Kobo purchase from iTunes US purchase from Google Books find on Goodreads

Roger Hobbs’ Vanishing Games: A Great Thriller!

I highly recommend the novel, Vanishing Games, by the critically acclaimed and award-winning author, Roger HobbsVanishing Games is the sequel to Hobbs’ international best seller Ghostman. Set in the casinos and slums of Macau, a sapphire heist skids off the tracks and our hero Ghostman battles a coldblooded psychopath, a mob boss and a host of others to recover the loot for his boss and mentor, a sexy chameleon who calls herself Angela. Roger Hobbs portrays criminals and the crimes they commit to a level of detail they come alive on the page.  Click here to read Hobbs’ synopsis of his latest crime fiction thriller.

18 days and counting until Deadly Lullaby!

Deadly Lullaby, by Robert McClure, published by Random House imprint Alibi

Random House will publish my novel,  Deadly Lullaby: A Thriller, on September 29, 2015, as an e-book with the usual major e-book sellers (see links below).  I’ll be bringing a few paper copies to Bouchercon 2015 for distribution to my devoted followers and readers.  All I ask in return is for a brief review (or long if that’s your style) on what aspect of the book you like the best, provided you liked any aspect of it, of course!  🙂

I look forward to seeing all my crime fiction compatriots at Bouchercon in October!

Available from the following eBook retailers:

purchase from Amazon.com purchase from Barnes & Noble purchase from Kobo purchase from iTunes US purchase from Google Books find on Goodreads

19 days and counting!

My first published novel, Deadly Lullaby: A Thriller, will be released by Random House and its imprint, Alibi, on September 29, 2015.  Here’s another good review by Debbie Krenzer on Book Likes who notes that “there are several hold your breath moments” and concludes that the entertainment offered by Deadly Lullaby “is well worth the price of the book.”  (Hey, I forgive her for getting my name wrong in light of her thumbs up review!)  Read her entire review here.

20 Days and Counting!

My first novel, Deadly Lullaby: A Thriller, goes live for the public to download on September 29, 2015 on all major e-book websites (Amazon, Barnes & Noble, Google Play Books, etc.).  Reviews from advance releases are starting to trickle in.  Andrew Eichner gives it a thumbs up on netgalley.com, stating:

“I just found another author to add to my must read list. McClure knows how to mix violence, humor, plot and characterization to make a fun and fast read. The story here– the father just out of jail and his adventures in the criminal underworld of California with his crooked cop/son is fast, furious, and compelling. Read it.”

To read the synopsis and Eichner’s review, click here.

Los Angeles, the setting for Deadly Lullaby

Recently returned from L.A. and, whew, the jet lag from the Pacific to the Eastern time zones is a killer.  I took the scenic drive from LAX up Route 1 to beautiful Carpinteria, CA where I attended my nephew’s wedding.  I look forward to going back to visit them and do a little on-site research for the crime fiction sequel to Deadly Lullaby, tentatively titled The Slow Dawn

Czech and Slovak rights to Deadly Lullaby!

Yesterday my agents informed me that they accepted generous offers for Slovakian and Czech language rights for my first novel Deadly Lullaby from, respectively, Ikar and Euromedia. Publication is two years away due to the translation process but it’s worth the wait; these publishers are the very best in that region. I’m looking forward to hearing my characters talk in Czech and Slovak–even though I won’t understand a word they’re saying.

Copy Editing Done!

I recently finished reviewing the final edits made by the copy editor assigned to Deadly Lullaby at Random House, Ted Allen.  A thoroughly professional job, making all the punctuation consistent, correcting a typo here and there, generally paying attention to the little things a fiction writer overlooks when swimming in the creative soup.

I pushed the Send button and thought, ‘Man, the book is out of my hands now.’ A little scary, but mostly a relief.

Deadly Lullaby: A Thriller

Cover

Robert McClure’s new novel, Deadly Lullaby: A Thriller, is to be released by Random House Publishing Group and its imprint, Alibi, on September 29, 2015.

For readers of Harlan Coben and Robert Crais, Robert McClure’s rollicking crime novel of family and felony takes readers on a relentless thrill ride through the L.A. underworld.
 
Fresh off a nine-year stint in San Quentin, career hitman Babe Crucci plans to finally go straight and enjoy all life has to offer—after he pulls one or two more jobs to shore up his retirement fund. More than anything, Babe is dead set on making up for lost time with his estranged son, Leo, who just so happens to be a rising star in the LAPD.

The road to reconciliation starts with tickets to a Dodgers game. But first, Leo needs a little help settling a beef over some gambling debts owed to a local mobster. This kind of thing is child’s play for Babe–until a sudden twist in the negotiations leads to a string of corpses and a titanic power shift in gangland politics. With the sins of his father piling up and dragging him down, Leo throws himself into the investigation of a young prostitute’s murder, a case that makes him some unlikely friends—and some brutally unpredictable enemies.

Caught up in a clash of crime lords, weaving past thugs with flamethrowers who expend lives like pocket change, Babe and Leo have one last chance to face the ghosts of their past—if they want to live long enough to see their future.

Advance Praise

Pre-Order Now!

Amazon

Barnes & Noble

Google Books

Kobo